It’s in the genes

Apparently my grandparents were part of the travel trailer boom of the 1950’s.  I was oblivious to this fact until a few months ago when I found these photos during a visit with my mother.

old_edited-1

This was in 1952. Beautiful trailer.

 

Living the good life

Living the good life.  I suspect they were enjoying a crossword in the sun.

I have no memory of their trailer days and was startled to see that sixty-two years ago they were setting out with their trailer just as George and I are now.

I guess wanderlust is in the genes. George’s father, Ed, had it.  He would pack the kids in the car for spur-of-the-moment trips to places such as Niagara Falls and took the younger kids on road trips out West.

Likewise, my mother, Lynne, will travel anywhere.  Even now, at age 90 and having suffered a stroke, she can out-travel me.  I was the beneficiary of my mother’s wanderlust, becoming her road-trip travel companion for a few trips in high school.  The most memorable was in Europe when I was 15, with two women and two teenagers in a rented Volkswagon camper.

Getting ready for a day of sightseeing, 1970.  It looks like an advertisement for a fun camping holiday gone bad.

Getting ready for a day of sightseeing. It looks like an advertisement for a fun camping holiday gone bad.

The underwear in the window is a nice touch.

The underwear in the window is a nice touch.

Both George and I came to Alaska originally because of a love of travel and new experiences.  Now we are setting out on the road for the same reason.  Thanks Hazel, John, Ed, Lynne, and host of other unknown ancestors for passing the wanderlust gene on to us.

2 thoughts on “It’s in the genes

Leave a Reply

