Skidaway

IMG_7758It feels good to be traveling again.  We headed north from St. Simons back to Athens, Georgia, where our son and daughter-in-law live.  We picked up our generator and some other things we had stashed there, ate like kings (or pigs, depending on your point-of-view), and then turned around and headed back to the Georgia coast.  This time, our destination was Skidaway Island State Park, just southeast of Savannah.

IMG_7708

Skidaway takes reservations, but not for specific sites, just the category of site—full-hookups or water and electric only.  There were no full-hookup reservations available when we made ours, but we arrived early and snagged a full-hook up site that had just opened up.  I believe we had the best site in the park.  Enormous, level, relatively private–it was one of our favorite campsites of the trip.

IMG_7753

Although Skidaway is an island, the state park is in the coastal forest bordering the marsh and there is no beach.  Most of the campground sites are large, overhung by live oaks, bordered by palmettos, and alive with birds.  IMG_7826It has a series of trails, from a half-mile to three miles, which made for lovely daily exercise.  IMG_7742IMG_7786IMG_7771Lots of birds, not too many people, campfires at night, a full moon rising through the trees—as I said, it felt good to be in our little trailer world again.

IMG_7823The park has a small interpretative center with information on the area’s history—natural and otherwise.  As I walked through it, trying to quiet the thwack-thwack of my flip-flips so as not to interrupt the Ranger’s talk on poisonous snakes from the room next door, I heard her say, “Whatever you do, don’t walk the trails with sandals or flip-flops.”  No problem, I headed out on the trails fully shod, ankles sprayed with bug dope, so that no snakes or ticks would get near me. IMG_7883

The interpretative center had a birdfeeder out back.

The interpretative center had a bird feeder out back.

This cardinal kept attacking its reflection in the interpretative center's window

This cardinal kept attacking its reflection in the interpretative center’s window

We headed into Savannah one day, but it was too cold and windy to even get out of the car for more than a few minutes.  IMG_7836IMG_7840We parked and tried to walk around but didn’t get much past the parking lot with the hearse ghost tours.  Still, even a drive around Savannah is interesting.  Its historic district is a maze of beautiful old homes and shaded squares, with some grittiness interspersed and around the edges.  IMG_7869IMG_7863IMG_7876IMG_7868IMG_7877The river waterfront’s warehouses have been converted to restaurants and tourist shops.  It gave me the deja-vu-ish feeling that I have had in several gorgeous old waterfront towns that now have look alike tourist businesses–Lahaina, Provincetown, Savannah, Wilmington–as if I’ve been on these streets before, but with a slight shift in light, background, and smell.  They are becoming too much the same.

IMG_7845IMG_7854We did not have any expectations for Skidaway.  We changed our travel plans in Athens, deciding that we wanted to head back to the coast in hopes of warmer weather. So, we booked Skidaway at the last minute, knowing little about it.  It was a good decision.  Despite the one cold day, the weather was pretty nice.  And the campground, which seems like a serene, woodsy oasis, is only about fifteen minutes from Savannah. We loved it.IMG_7791IMG_7810IMG_7796

 

22 thoughts on “Skidaway

  1. You were in our neck of the woods in Savannah. Although we have never camped at Skidaway we have been to the park and walked on the trails. It is a beautiful place. Too bad the weather didn’t cooperate for exploring Savannah more. We’ve been in Louisiana for 3 days and it’s rained every day and rain is expected at our next destination.

    • Yes, we were in your back yard! We drove around Tybee a bit and saw the fort (next post) on a warm day. We have been to Savannah before, so we weren’t too disappointed in the weather. But someday I want to come back and really explore.
      Sorry to hear about your rain. We spent four days at Hilton Head after leaving Skidaway and it was sunny in the high 70s–the first really nice weather that we’ve had in ages (as you know). But now a front is blowing in with cold and rain. I hope you get some sun.

  2. I like the Savannah waterfront. In fact I like all of Savannah. The last time I was there you could buy a signed copy of “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil”.

    • I like it too and want to come back sometime for a week or so and really explore. I think the Midnight book still has a presence in tourism there, but I doubt many people have read it these days.

    • Thank you Steve. Because it was my intent to try to bring friends and family (and anyone else interested) along on our trip, your comment makes me feel as if I have succeeded. So, it is one of the nicest things anyone has said about the blog. I appreciate it. I laughed about your latest blog post, in which you noted that readers seem to care way too much about what you do with your life. The blogging world is a funny one, isn’t it? Sometimes, I don’t know what to make of it.

  3. Skidaway State Park is one of my favorite GA State Parks. When I stay there, my campsite feels so exotic with the vegetation and all of the birds. I love your lizard shot. A green anole? I had one keeping me company on my deck this afternoon…

    • Isn’t Skidaway a treat? We loved our particular campsite, but it seemed as if all the sites were good. The anole was the only living creature that I saw on my walks except for a few people and the birds, which were everywhere–up, down, and sideways.

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting Lucy. Yes, it was a sweet site with a little sun, lots of space, beautiful trees, and lots of singing birds. I very much enjoyed your guest post on Romania.

Leave a Reply

